The Songwriters HOF Have Their Inductions As Missy Elliott Makes History

Justin Timberlake was the headliner of this year's Songwriters Hall of Fame honors. The ten-time Grammy Award winner received the Contemporary Icon Award at last night's ceremony in New York City. The prestigious Johnny Mercer Award was presented to Carole Bayer Sager, who's written more than 400 songs, including “That's What Friends Are For” and “Nobody Does It Better.”

Also honored were Halsey with the Hal David Starlight Award and iconic music publisher Martin Bandier with the Visionary Leadership Award.

The Hall of Fame inducted Dallas Austin, Missy Elliott, Tom T. Hall, John Prince, Jack Tempchin, and Yusuf Islam (stage name Cat Stevens). Missy Elliott is the first female rapper, and the third over all, to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Presenters and performers included Sara Bareilles, Clive Davis, Jermaine Dupri, Patti LaBelle, Queen Latifah and Dave Matthews.

Source: ABC News

Photo Credit: Getty Images