Jacob deGrom Wins NL Cy Young For Second Consecutive Season

Mets starter Jacob deGrom was overwhelmingly voted the National League Cy Young Award winner yesterday, earning the hardware for a second consecutive season.

In case you’re wondering what the difference between overwhelmingly and unanimously is, that would be one vote, as deGrom earned 29 of 30 first-place votes.

The 31-year-old deGrom went 11-8 with a 2.43 ERA and a 255 K’s to just 44 walks over 204 innings for the Mets this past season. Incredibly, he actually won fewer games last year (10) en route to the Cy Young Award. Both are the lowest win totals among starters to win the award.

Nevertheless, deGrom is the 20th pitcher to win multiple Cy Young Awards and just one of seven NL pitchers to win the award in back-to-back years—the last one being the man who came in second place, Max Scherzer, who is the last man to win the NL Cy Young not named deGrom, taking it in 2016 and 2017 with the Nationals.

Source: NBC Sports

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content