New Jersey has loosened the penalty for anyone caught in possession of psilocybin.
Governor Phil Murphy signed a bill into law on Thursday that downgrades possession of one ounce or less of magic mushrooms from a third-degree crime to a disorderly persons offense.
The law reduces the penalty to a $1,000 fine or a 6-month sentence, rather than the far more punitive 3-5 years in prison.
The Garden State's latest move comes amid efforts to reduce arrests for non-violent drug offenses, which disproportionately target minorities.
Colorado decriminalized magic mushrooms in 2019. Just a few months ago, Oregon passed a measure to legalize the use of psilocybin in controlled therapeutic cases.
In November, New Jerseyans overwhelmingly voted in favor of legalizing marijuana for recreational use by adults over the age of 21. Lawmakers in the state continue to wrangle over how to set up of the legal pot marketplace and how to handle prosecution for those under 21.
Photo: Getty Images